in

How to factory reset the router

How to factory reset the router

How to factory reset the router : Restoring the factory settings erases the router’s custom settings and restores them to the new state. This is an important step when solving some network problems. Factory resets are relatively easy, but each router is a little different.

What Is a Factory Reset, and When Should You Do It?


Unlike resets, people sometimes mistakenly call them “resets.” Just like a PC, rebooting shuts down the router and restarts it. This is a good troubleshooting step if your router behaves abnormally.

On the other hand, restoring the factory settings erases all data on the router. This includes any passwords, Wi-Fi network details (such as network name (SSID) and password) and any other settings you change.

In essence, it’s like you just bought a router from the factory, hence the name. This is the point. If your router behaves abnormally and rebooting does not help – or you think it might have router malware – a factory reset may resolve the issue. But there is no turning back, so this should not be your first troubleshooting step. At least, try rebooting first. It might be a good idea to upgrade the router’s firmware and see if it solves the problem.

If you are selling or processing a router, a factory reset is a good idea. This way, the person who gets the router next can start over without seeing any personal information (such as your Wi-Fi password).

How to Factory Reset a Router with a Button


Warning: As mentioned above, this will remove all custom settings for the router, including its Wi-Fi network password! You have to reset it.

Almost every router uses a different management interface, but that’s okay; you might bypass it altogether. First, look at the router carefully – most have a reset button at the back or bottom. You may need an unfolded paper clip to press it.

On many routers, if you hold down the button for 10 seconds, it will reset your router. If this doesn’t work, try using the 30-30-30 method:

  • Hold in the button for 30 seconds.
  • Unplug the router for 30 seconds.
  • Plug the router back in.
  • Hold in the reset button for another 30 seconds.

How to Factory Reset a Router via the Web Interface


If your router does not have a reset button, you must reset it using the options in its configuration interface.

We recommend that you consult the router manual. You can search the router for the model name on the Internet and find the online version in “Manual”. This manual will help you connect to the router’s web interface and display the location of the reset options.

You have a mesh Wi-Fi system (in which case you must use the device’s application to reset it), you usually first determine the IP address required to log in to the router management interface.

On Windows 10, you can find it through Settings > Network and Internet and click View Network Properties. Look for the “default gateway” entry – the IP address. Here’s how to find the router’s IP address on any platform.

Insert the IP address into the address bar of your favorite web browser and press Enter. You should see the router’s management interface and a prompt for the username and password. If you have never changed the login details of your router, the username and password may be “admin” (without the quotation marks). If you are not sure, try checking out sites like routerpasswords.com. You can also find this information in the router manual.

From there, dig around to find the factory reset option. They are different for each router manufacturer (even depending on the model). Check all the tabs named “Restore”, “System” or “Settings”.

On our ASUS routers, this option is called Factory Defaults and is located under Administration > Restore/Save/Upload Settings.

You can also save your router’s settings to a file using its web interface. After the factory resets the router, you only need to re-import the file. However, if these settings cause problems, restoring the saved settings file may also restore the bug.

Again, resetting the router erases everything you do in order to customize it, from Wi-Fi passwords to your custom DNS server. You basically have an “out of the box” router.

SOURCE

What do you think?

121 points
Upvote Downvote